hyundai i20 wrcLeón, Mexico March 8, 2014 The Hyundai Shell World Rally Team heads into the final day of this weekend’s Rally Mexico holding a provisional podium position after Thierry Neuville excelled in the high-altitude gravel conditions to take third place overall after Saturday’s seven stages.

Despite the encouraging performance of the Hyundai i20 WRC cars, the team remains focussed on securing a two-car finish in this demanding rally, its third WRC event, which will enable it to add invaluable experience in its ongoing learning year.

ivan ss4Filipino car rally champion, Ivan Isada together with co-driver Scott Abella recently competed in the International Rally of Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia, held last December 14 to 15, 2013.

img 3587A total of eight (8) drivers participated in the 3rd leg of the 2013 Winds Formula Philippines Series last August 10-11, 2013 at the Clark International Speedway (CIS). The 3rd leg was held together with the Philippine GT Championship, the Classic Mini Racing Series, and the VW Kafer Cup.

Clark International Speedway is a 4.2km circuit located within the Clark Freeport Zone in Angeles City, Pampanga. Numerous motorsport events, ranging from open wheel racing, touring cars, to drag racing, are held at this track throughout the year.

hyundai lateral drift round 1Hyundai Asia Resources, Inc. (HARI), official distributor of Hyundai cars in the Philippines, announces its title sponsorship of the 2013 Hyundai Lateral Drift Pro-Am Championship Series. The 8th season of the series kicks off rounds 1 and 2 on August 31 and September 1 at the Megatent in Libis, Quezon City,featuring heart-stopping lateral drift action headed by six-time champion Alex Perez.

The first and only drift series in the Philippines since 2006 aims to drive motorsports awareness on a nationwide scale. This year, international drift drivers from Japan, Drift Couple Hiromi Kajikuma and Kimihiro Obata will grace the series as guest judges for all six rounds.

One of the highlights of the competition is a drift exhibition by “Pilipinas Got Talent” Season 4 finalists Gio Rodriguez and Ralph Tan aboard the 2013 Genesis Coupe, Car Awards Group, Inc. (CAGI) 2012-2013 Car of the Year Philippines’ Best Rear-Wheel Drive Sports car.

Watch Alex, Gio, and Ralph, along with the country’s top professional and amateur drift drivers face off in sideways drifting and burning rubber action.

winds2 main
The 2nd leg of the 2013 Winds Formula Philippines series was held last June 1 and 2 at the Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC), sharing the track with the Philippine GT Championship, Classic Mini Racing Series, and the VW Kafer Cup.
A total of seven drivers join the grid including our very own Jeremy San Diego, Sung Joon Park, and Roby Benito who was the Philippines ROK 125cc Karting Champion. They were joined by veteran Japanese drivers Takumi Kuroiwa (2012 Super-FJ Tsukuba Series Champion), Teriyuki Yoshida (2012 Super-FJ Tsukuba Series 1st-Runner Up), Yousuke Yabushita (Formula Junior 1600 Pilot), and Gen Yamaguchi (Super-FJ pilot).
Words by Christopher Kho | Photos courtesy of KCMG and DPPI MEDIA
kcmgwec main
We first got word in February that Hong Kong-based motorsports group, KC Motorgroup Ltd. (KCMG), will be racing a Nissan-powered Morgan LMP2 at the 24 Hours of Le Mans this year. Although these guys have previous experience with Formula Nippon, Super GT300, and Formula 3, this would be their first endeavor in the world of endurance racing. So before taking on the challenge of Le Mans head-on, they tried their hands first at something a bit more manageable: the 6 Hours of Silverstone.